Edith Wharton - The Age of Innocence

The Age of Innocence

by Edith Wharton

Published: 1920

The Age of Innocence is Edith Wharton's twelfth novel, initially serialized in four parts in the Pictorial Review magazine in 1920, and later released by D. Appleton and Company as a book in New York and in London.

The book won the 1921 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, making it the first novel written by a woman to win the award. The story is set in upper-class New York City in the 1870s.

In her autobiography, Wharton wrote that The Age of Innocence had allowed her to find "a momentary escape in going back to my childish memories of a long-vanished America... it was growing more and more evident that the world I had grown up in and been formed by had been destroyed in 1914." Scholars and readers alike agree that The Age of Innocence is fundamentally a story which struggles to reconcile the old with the new

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All